Los Angeles Independent Publishing

Lesbian Books

Red Hen Press, a Los Angeles independent publisher founded by Kate Gale, offers poetry readings, poetry contests, book awards, and more.

Red Hen Press Awards



Red Hen Press would like to thank all who submitted work for the awards and congratulate the following winners!

Benjamin Saltman Poetry Award 2013 winner: Dean Kostos’s This Is Not a Skyscraper.

Red Hen Press Short Story Award 2013 winners: Cheyenne Baudy’s “The Disassembly Line” and Elizabeth Kemper French’s “Dissection.”

Red Hen Press Poetry Award 2013 winner: Sam Witt’s “Little Doomsday Clock.

A Room of Her Own’s To the Lighthouse Poetry Publication Prize 2013 winner: Sarah Wetzel’s River Electric with Light.

The Los Angeles Review’s Wild Light Poetry Contest 2013 winner: Phillip Shaw’s “What’s She Doing Now.”

Winner of the 2010 Benjamin Saltman Award


Red Hen Press is proud to confer three annual literary awards: the Red Hen Press Short Story Award for $1,000 and publication of  a single short story in the Los Angeles Review, the Benjamin Saltman Poetry Award for $3,000 and the publication of a full manuscript, and the Ruskin Art Club Poetry Award for $1,000 and publication of a poem in Los Angeles Review.

For more information on each award, including how to enter, please check out the links below. Good luck!

Red Hen Press Short Story Award

Benjamin Saltman Poetry Award

Red Hen Press Poetry Award