Los Angeles Independent Publishing

Lesbian Books

Red Hen Press, a Los Angeles independent publisher founded by Kate Gale, offers poetry readings, poetry contests, book awards, and more.

 Congratulations to Mark Wagenaar, the 2016 Benjamin Saltman Poetry Award Winner. His collection, Southern Tongues Leave Us Shining, will be published in 2018.

View all the 2016 winners Here.

2018 Benjamin Saltman Poetry Award


Book Award
Residency Award
$3000 Award
Final Judge: Marilyn Nelson

NOTE: The deadline has been extended from October 31, 2018.

The winner of the 2018 Benjamin Saltman Award will be announced in 2019.

Established in 1998, in honor of the poet Benjamin Saltman (1927-1999), this award is for a previously unpublished original collection of poetry. Awarded collection is selected through an annual competition which is open to all poets.

Award is $3000, publication of the awarded collection by Red Hen Press, and a four-week PLAYA Residency. Entry fee is $25.00. Name on cover sheet only, 48 page minimum, 96 page maximum. Entries will be accepted via Submittable only.


Eligibility: The award is open to all writers with the following exceptions:

A) Authors who have had a full length work published by Red Hen Press, or a full length work currently under consideration by Red Hen Press;
B) Employees, interns, or contractors of Red Hen Press;
C) Relatives of employees or members of the executive board of directors;
D) Relatives or individuals having a personal or professional relationship with any of the final judges where they have taken any part whatsoever in shaping the manuscript, or where, for whatever reason, selecting a particular manuscript might have the appearance of impropriety.

Procedures and Ethical Considerations

To be certain that every manuscript finalist receives the fairest evaluation, all manuscripts shall be submitted to the judges without any identifying material.

Bios, acknowledgments, and other identifying material shall be removed from judged manuscripts until the conclusion of the competition.

Red Hen Press is committed to maintaining the utmost integrity of our awards. Judges shall recuse themselves from considering any manuscript where they recognize the work. In the event of recusal, a manuscript score previously assigned by the managing editor of the press will be substituted.

Please submit materials via Submittable by clicking here or pasting this link into your browser:  https://redhenpress.submittable.com/submit


For questions or to withdraw a submitted entry, please contact Editorial.



Previous BSA Winners

Mark Wagenaar, Southern Tongues Leave Us Shining; Jason Schneiderman, Primary Source; Frannie Lindsay, Our Vanishing; Brynn Saito, Palace of Contemplating Departure; Lillian Yvonne-Bertram, But a Storm is Blowing From Paradise; Steve Kistulentz, The Luckless Age; Rachel Contreni Flynn, Tongue; Erinn Batykeffer, Allegheny, Monongahela; Tony Barnstone, Golem of Los Angeles; Mariko Nagai, Histories of Bodies; Charles Harper Webb, Amplified Dog; Maggie Smith, Lamp of the Body; Susan Thomas, State of Blessed Gluttony; Jim Peterson, The Owning Stone; Gaylord Brewer, Devilfish