Red Hen Press Nonfiction Award

Established in 2015, the Red Hen Nonfiction Award seeks to recognize the art of true storytelling through literary craft. The awarded nonfiction manuscript is selected through an annual submission process which is open to all authors.

Award details

Book publication by Red Hen Press
Final Judge: Deborah Thompson
Deadline: March 31, 2021

Note: Entry fee is $25.00. Name on cover sheet only, with a 150 page minimum. Entries will be accepted via Submittable only.

*Beginning in 2021, the Nonfiction Award will be held biennially in odd-numbered years.


The award is open to all writers with the following exceptions:

  • Authors who have had a full length work published by Red Hen Press, or a full length work currently under consideration by Red Hen Press;
  • Employees, interns, or contractors of Red Hen Press;
  • Relatives of employees or members of the executive board of directors;
  • Relatives or individuals having a personal or professional relationship with any of the final judges where they have taken any part whatsoever in shaping the manuscript, or where, for whatever reason, selecting a particular manuscript might have the appearance of impropriety.

Procedures and Ethical Considerations

To be certain that every manuscript finalist receives the fairest evaluation, all manuscripts shall be submitted to the judges without any identifying material.

Bios, acknowledgments, and other identifying material shall be removed from judged manuscripts until the conclusion of the competition.

Red Hen Press is committed to maintaining the utmost integrity of our awards. Judges shall recuse themselves from considering any manuscript where they recognize the work. In the event of recusal, a manuscript score previously assigned by the managing editor of the press will be substituted.

For questions or to withdraw a submitted entry, please contact

Recent Winners