New and Selected Poems

This edition brings together selected poems from all six previous editions of Frederick Feirstein’s poetry published between 1974 and 1997. Feirstein is one of the founders of Expansive Poetry which reaches out to audiences beyond the academy and incorporates free verse, formal, and narrative techniques. The poems in this selection combine extraordinary lyric and storytelling skills. A poet of urban anger, humour reconciliation, and revelation. Frederick Feirstein dares to work on an epic scale. His ambitious vision makes for a unique accessible achievement in American poetry. This broad selection of poems is a cause for celebration.

In addition to six books of poetry, Frederick Feirstein has produced seven plays and edited the anthology Expansive Poetry: Essays on the New Narrative and the New Formalism. He has received fellowships from the Rockefeller and Guggenheim Foundations. His many honors include the Poetry Society of America’s John Masefield Award.

Tradepaper: $20 / ISBN: 9781586540760
Casebound: $30 / ISBN: 9781586540951

Story Line Press Legacy Title: Frederick Feirstein's New and Selected Poems white text against emerald green background

Frederick Feirstein

Publication Date: August 10, 2021

Genre/Imprint: Poetry, Story Line Press

Shop: Red Hen, Bookshop, Barnes & Noble