David Nikki Crouse

David Nikki Crouse is author of the short story collections Copy Cats, The Man Back There, and the collection of novellas Trouble Will Save You. David’s work has received the Flannery O’Connor Award, the Mary McCarthy Prize, the Lawrence Prize, and additional short story awards, and been published in magazines such as the Kenyon Review, Witness, the Colorado Review, Agni, and the Greensboro Review. They live in Seattle, Washington, where they serve as the Milliman Endowed Chair of Creative Writing at the University of Washington-Seattle.

David Nikki Crouse Author Photo

All Books

I’m Here: Alaskan Stories

David Nikki Crouse

Publication Date: August 8, 2023

$16.95 Tradepaper

ISBN: 9781597099349


The stories in I’m Here dramatize life in the Alaskan interior, describing the difficult lives of people in Fairbanks, Alaska as they move through the long, brilliant days of summer into the deep winter months. These are characters living on the tenuous edge of things—on the economic edge caused by poverty and disillusion, on the dividing line between outsider and insider, and on the literal edge of the Alaskan wilderness. The stories in this collection move from beauty to danger and back again with decisive grace, although the lingering effect is not shock, but empathy toward people simultaneously alien and oddly familiar.

David Nikki Crouse’s work has always explored the mysteries of identity, and these remarkably rendered stories double down on that subject by focusing on the self-mythology of people living in Fairbanks, Alaska, merging the hard exterior world of the Alaskan wilderness with its inhabitants’ complicated interior landscapes.