Tami Haaland

Tami Haaland is the author of three poetry collections, What Does Not Return (Lost Horse Press, 2018), When We Wake in the Night (WordTech Editions, 2012), and Breath in Every Room (Story Line Press, 2001), winner of the Nicholas Roerich First Book Award. Her work has been featured on the Writer’s Almanac and American Life in Poetry. Haaland has served as Montana’s Poet Laureate and directs the creative writing program at Montana State University Billings.

All Books

Breath in Every Room

Tami Haaland

Publication Date: June 22, 2021


Breath in Every Room intertwines parents and children with encounters in the natural world. Ranging from birds in the forest to a boy’s captured frogs, from rattlesnakes in the prairie to a bat fallen from the sky. The book weaves in and out of myth and dream.

Tradepaper: $20 / ISBN: 9781586543815
Casebound: $30 / ISBN: 9781586540968