What the Body Remembers

Adèle Slaughter’s first book of poems, What the Body Remembers, was published by Story Line Press in 1994. It is an autobiographical collection of glimpses into a childhood fraught with familial violence, alcoholism, and trauma, and the life that has been led in its wake; the failure of a marriage and the experiences that forever mold us as human beings. Through all the abuse and suffering these poems portray, however, the driving theme behind What the Body Remembers never falters: the reader is left with an inspiring picture of courage, perseverance, femininity, and the survival of the truest self. The subject of the work remains always the poet, the speaker, even as great attention is drawn to the circumstance surrounding her, providing an impactful example of how our greatest pains may leave us changed, but not defined, and never defeated. Pat Monaghan called the book “a stunning debut volume.”

Tradepaper: $20 / ISBN: 9781586540692
Casebound: $30 / ISBN: 9781586540791

Story Line Press legacy tittle, Adele Slaughter What the Body Remembers Poem, white script text against emerald green background.

Adele Slaughter ( Author Website )

Publication Date: May 11, 2021

Genre/Imprint: Poetry, Story Line Press

Shop: Red Hen, Bookshop, Barnes & Noble